top of page

Playing with Fire was first conceived as a journey through myriad Italian Baroque aesthetics and musical expressions. It begins with Corelli’s grandiose first Concerto Grosso from his Op. 6 collection, prominently featuring two violins and solo violoncello in dialogue with one another and the rest of the orchestra. The triumphant end of this piece ushers in Durante’s Second Concerto for Strings. Wandering with little certainty into a mysterious and emotionally charged arena, each movement of this piece includes the key descriptive word “affetuoso” in its title. Complete with fiery violin solos throughout, Durante guides us through various shades of tenderness, passion, and affection. Scarlatti’s Sinfonia introduction to his Oratorio Il Giardino di Rose comprises several short and severely contrasted movements. Concluding with a lively and joyous dance, we move to Vivaldi’s Concerto for Two Violoncellos, which ignites from the depths of the instrument with menacing, impassioned tones. Followed by a melancholic and dreamy second movement with nuanced back and forth dialogue between the two solo violoncellos, our program finishes by featuring the whole band of 17 musicians with Vivaldi’s uplifting and lighthearted Concerto for Two Flutes.

celtic concert live.JPG

Silentwoods Performing in at the High Mowing School in Wilton NH

Legends and Lore crew.jpg

Post Performance Photo of Silentwoods Collective artists 

bottom of page